The Altes Museum contains many Greek and Roman relics. Built between 1823 and 1830 designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel, it is one of the most important works in the architecture of Classicism. With its exterior and an interior structure of great precision after the Ancient Greek style, Schinkel pursued Humboldt's idea of the museum as an educational institution open to the public.
Originally built to house all of Berlin's art collections, the Altes Museum has accommodated the Collection of Classical Antiquities since 1904. Between 1943 and 1945 the building was severely damaged by fire. Reconstruction work continued up until 1966.